+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Advice needed on a website issue

  1. #1
    I think Admin is going to let me have this space FLATLINER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Queen Anne, Md / ATLANTIC BEACH, , NC
    Posts
    1,280
    Home Port
    Ocean City, Md
    Best Catch
    1,800lb Pacific Sturgeon
    Occupation
    CUSTOM ROD AND CUSTOM GAFF BUILDER

    Advice needed on a website issue

    I got this email this morning. Is this a phishing hoax, or something that I should respond to?

    PLEASE ADVISE AS WHEN IT COMES TO DOMAIN NAMES, I AM NOT AN EXPERT!!!!!

    Dear Principal,

    We are a domain name registration and dispute organization in Asia, which mainly deal with the global companies' domain name registration and internet intellectual property right protection. Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.

    On January, 23, 2010, we received an application formally. One company named "Hlistion Holdings Ltd." wanted to applied for the Internet brand keyword "anglersenvy" and some domain names from our organization.

    Now we are handling with the registration of these domain names and find that the keyword of these domain names and internet trademark is identical with your company's. So we have to confirm with you at two points:
    1. If your company consign Hlistion company to register these domain names and internet keyword, we will send application form to them and help them finish the registration at once.
    2. If your company have nothing to do with Hlistion company, they maybe have other purposes to register these domain names and internet keyword.

    We haven't finished the registration of Hlistion Holdings Ltd. yet, and we have postponed this application of this company temporarily already. In order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
    Waiting for your reply ASAP.

    Best Regards,
    Andre

    Auditing and Registration Manager

    Tel: +852 65171987
    Fax: +852 30696940
    Email: Andre@sknetservice.com
    Website: www.sknetservice.org
    Last edited by FLATLINER; 01-25-2010 at 07:42 AM.

  2. #2
    NOW BOOKING RUN-OFF WAHOONBOX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    MOREHEAD CITY NC 28557
    Posts
    20,780
    Boat
    WILD GOOSE - RUN-OFF- SEA SPLENDOUR
    Home Port
    MOREHEAD CITY, NC
    Best Catch
    PONEYTAIL
    Occupation
    OFFSHORE MATE VIDEOGRAPHER
    SET YOUR CAMERA UP...TURN YOUR SPEAKER PHONE ON AND GIVE THEM A CALL


    OR

    SEND THEM AN EMAIL BACK AND ASK THEM WHAT THE HELL ARE THEY SAYING....


    OR


    LET ME DO IT.


    DUDE I HAVE READ THE MUMBO JUMBO GARBAGE THEY SENT YOU AND I STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT HE SAID


    852 AREA CODE...MY FIRST GUESS IS HONGO KONGO

  3. #3
    Now booking for May Striper fishing on the Roanoke River
    North Carolina
    910-540-2464
    gottaflylee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wrightsville Beach, NC
    Posts
    10,056
    Boat
    2 many
    Home Port
    Bridge Tender Marina & Motts Channel Seafood
    Best Catch
    My family
    Occupation
    Charter Capt.
    Something does not sound right to me. Who is your domain nime with? Mine is with earthlink and every 3 years I pay a fee to have it registered for 3 more years in my name.

    Also, Google is your friend...I googled the phone #...SCAM...

    Online TV Database • View topic - Just because I can... Internet scam this one funny

    This one has the info you seek about domain named...

    Domain name dispute spam - westtechnology.asia - domain name con ...
    MirrOlure when big fish count!




    910-540-2464

  4. #4
    Jer
    Jer is offline
    Administrator

    BOAT LOANS
    Jer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
    Posts
    5,993
    Occupation
    SportFishermen.com 24/7/365
    Now that is some serious broken english. I'm pretty good at understanding "engrish", but that one is special.

    Ok, but don't worry about that, Kevin. It is a scam. Ignore that e-mail.

    If you go to Google and search for "sknetservice.org" you will see a lot websites listing that company as a scam.





  5. #5
    If Ignorance is bliss, Why aren't more people happy? clt_capt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, MHC
    Posts
    9,291
    Boat
    Luhrs 36
    Home Port
    MHC
    Occupation
    Supporting my Tackle habit
    It definitely looks like a phishing attack.

  6. #6
    Now booking for May Striper fishing on the Roanoke River
    North Carolina
    910-540-2464
    gottaflylee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wrightsville Beach, NC
    Posts
    10,056
    Boat
    2 many
    Home Port
    Bridge Tender Marina & Motts Channel Seafood
    Best Catch
    My family
    Occupation
    Charter Capt.
    Quote Originally Posted by clt_capt View Post
    It definitely looks like a phishing attack.
    Ferd, is that Wahoo or Dolphin...oh I see them coming...what no can't be...it's...it's...it's....
















































    Oyster Toads...Ahhhhhhhh













    Sorry, I had to do it, been up since 3 with this blow...
    MirrOlure when big fish count!




    910-540-2464

  7. #7
    I think Admin is going to let me have this space merry marlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pittsboro NC
    Posts
    2,344
    Boat
    25 Parker
    Home Port
    Marshallberg
    Best Catch
    Core sound shrimp!
    Occupation
    Raising 4 kids...
    I like that Lee!!!! thanks for the smile...
    So, you got your share of Blow and Water last night????
    MM

  8. #8
    www.easterntackle.com Sea Draggin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ga
    Posts
    6,629
    Best Catch
    The next bite on a jig.
    Phishing - not fishing - emails


    Real legal stuff will come hard copy by registered mail.

  9. #9
    BANNED HOLWACHAGOT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,464
    Boat
    REEL WAKE
    Quote Originally Posted by gottaflylee View Post
    Ferd, is that Wahoo or Dolphin...oh I see them coming...what no can't be...it's...it's...it's....
















































    Oyster Toads...Ahhhhhhhh













    Sorry, I had to do it, been up since 3 with this blow...
    Advice needed on a website issue-71307_012.jpg

    Advice needed on a website issue-gaffedtoads.jpg

    Here is the best thing to do with those Spamtoads.
    Holwachagot

+ Reply to Thread
Buy GoPro HERO Camera at GoPro.com



Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2